Board of Advisors

Our Board of Advisors support the faculty, staff and students in achieving the mission of the department. The role of the BOA is to:

  • Work with the faculty, staff, and students to enhance our tradition of excellence.
  • Disseminate news and achievements of the department to appropriate constituent groups.
  • Provide feedback and perspectives to the department chair and faculty regarding program initiatives, events, and curriculum.
  • Support the program by:
    • Promoting the profession of public management in the public and nonprofit sectors
    • Supporting program initiatives through ongoing relationships with Northern Illinois University administration and public officials in local, state, federal, and nonprofit agencies
    • Identifying internship and job opportunities for students
    • Supporting program fundraising activities to fund MPA scholarships and assistantships
    • Individual service.

Members serve at invitation of the department chair, with advice from a nominating committee of board members, for a three-year term, with the option for one additional renewal term. One board member serves as chair for the meetings, with a one-year appointment at invitation of the department chair.

Current Board of Advisers

Dan Barreiro (Chair)
Chief Community Services Office
City of Aurora


Ellen Weber
Community Development Director
City of DeKalb 

Mary McKittrick


Derek Bergsten
Rockford Fire Department

John Fahy
Senior Director of Academic Programing and
Emergency Services
Elgin Community Colleges

John Perry
Village Administrator, Retired

Karen Beyer
Executive Director
Ecker Center for Mental Health

Steve Gutierrez

Gary Schira
Chief of Police

Steve Bosco

Dathan Jackson
Police Sergeant
Northern Illinois University

Matthew Simpson


Dee Bruemmer
Scott County

Emily Keilback
Chief Advancement Officer
Girl Scots of Northern Illinois

Ingrid Velkme
Deputy Village Manager/
Director of Administrative Services
Village of Western Springs

Julia Cedillo Rita Kruse

Tim Wiberg
Village Manager
Village of Lincolnwood

Dane Checolinski
Sheboygan County
Economic Development Corporation

Nicole Lewis
Assistant to the Village Administrator
Village of Glendale Heights

Contact Us

Department of Public Administration
IASBO Building (2nd Floor)
View map